User menu

Dallas Bar Elects 2016 Officers

Fri, 11/20/2015 - 16:00 -- admin25

some text

Rob Crain Elected President-Elect 

by Jessica D. Smith

Members of the Dallas Bar Association proudly elected its 2016 officers during the Annual Meeting on November 6.

Rob Crain, of Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP, was elected president-elect and will serve as the Association’s 108th president in 2017.

Mr. Crain was elected to the DBA Board in 2007 and was elected Chair of the Board of Directors in 2013. He currently serves as the Chair of the Public Forum Committee, which he founded in 2006, and is Board Advisor to the Probate, Trusts & Estates Law Section, the Securities Section, the Admissions & Membership Committee and the Memorial & History Committee. In addition, Mr. Crain was the Chair of the 2011-2012 Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and was co-founder of the DAYL Freedom Run, among other activities. He is a Sustaining Life Fellow of the Dallas Bar Foundation and the Texas Bar Foundation. Additionally, Mr. Crain is a Past Director of Big Brothers Big Sisters of North Texas and serves as a Director of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association.

Other officers elected at the Annual Meeting were: Michael K. Hurst, of Gruber Hurst Elrod Johansen Hail Shank, elected first vice-president; Laura Benitez Geisler, of The Geisler Law Firm, elected second vice-president; and Sakina Rasheed, of Haynes and Boone, LLP, elected secretary-treasurer. Brad Weber, of Locke Lord LLP, will serve as immediate past president and Jerry Alexander, of Passman & Jones PC, will serve as president in 2016.

Additionally, on November 12, ballots for director positions were sent to members and five of the following nominees will assume director positions in 2016: Jonathan Childers, Dawn Estes, Krisi Kastl, Audrey Moorehead, Cheryl Camin Murray, Bill Richmond, Mary Scott, Robert Tobey, Victor Vital and Tatiana Waits. Ballots were due back November 23 and results were not available at press time. The 2016 presidents and president-elects of the minority bar associations will also serve on the board.

Each year, the Texas Center for Legal Ethics & Professionalism co-sponsors the presentation of the Morris Harrell Professionalism Award with the DBA. The award was created in 1999 in honor of DBA Past President Morris Harrell to recognize an attorney who best exemplifies, by conduct and character, truly professional traits who others in the bar seek to emulate. This year’s Morris Harrell Professionalism Award recipient was Hon. Royal Furgeson, Dean of the UNT Dallas College of Law.

Martha Hardwick Hofmeister, of Shackelford, Melton, McKinley & Norton, LLP, and Tom Mighell, of Contoural, Inc., Co-Chairs of the Bar None Production Company, received the Jo Anna Moreland Outstanding Committee Chair Award. The Intellectual Property Law Section, chaired by Scott Breedlove, of Vinson & Elkins LLP, and the International Law Section, chaired by James McCarthy, of Diamond McCarthy, LLP, received the Special Section Award. And, the Minority Bar Leader Award was presented to Erin Nowell, Simon Greenstone Panatier Bartlett, PC.  

Presidential Citations were also presented to behind-the-scenes members who have faithfully performed often time-consuming tasks for the association. This year’s recipients were Laura Benitez Geisler, of the Geisler Law Firm, and Robert Tobey, of Johnston Tovey, P.C., for their outstanding efforts in successfully raising a record-breaking $1.1 million for the Campaign for Equal Access to Justice benefiting DVAP.

Jessica D. Smith serves as the DBA’s Communications/Media Director. She can be reached at

Back to Top