User menu

Equal Access to Justice Campaign Co-Chairs Named

Mon, 07/23/2018 - 09:50 -- admin25

Krisi Kastl                               Dan Kelly                             Kate Morris  

          Erin Nowell                                       Mary Scott

Kristina “Krisi” Kastl, Dan Kelly, Kathryne “Kate” Morris, Erin Nowell, and Mary Scott have been named Co-Chairs of the 2018-2019 Equal Access to Justice Campaign benefiting the Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program (DVAP).

“Supporting pro bono legal services is the most important endeavor we undertake as attorneys because for our revered legal system to work, it has to work for everyone.” said DBA President Michael K. Hurst. “Our team of chairs and vice chairs are close friends and amongst the most respected leaders and advocates for pro bono in our legal community. We are incredibly fortunate to have them at the helm of what should be a transformational year for our Equal Access Campaign and the new Endowment. After all, because of our annual campaign and the Endowment, ‘And justice for all’ means justice for all people—and for all time. No one can better lead these imperative efforts than are team of Erin, Dan, Kate, Krisi, and Mary.”

Krisi Kastl, founder of Kastl Law, P.C., is an experienced trial lawyer whose practice focuses in the area of personal injury claims. A graduate of Texas Tech School of Law, she is a long-time supporter of the Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and frequently volunteers as a pro bono attorney for DVAP. Ms. Kastl has been active in the Dallas Bar Association for many years and currently serves on the Board of Directors, as a Co-Chair of the Bench Bar Conference Committee, and as Board Advisor to the Fee Disputes and Lawyer Referral Service Committees and the Alternative Dispute Resolution Section. Among her many accolades, she has been recognized as a Rising Star, Top Young Lawyer in Texas, and as a Texas Super Lawyer.

 Dan Kelly, a graduate of the University of Michigan Law School, is Vice President and Associate General Counsel at Vistra Energy. In his position he manages all litigation, labor & employment, and regulatory enforcement proceedings involving the company. He also serves as primary legal advisor to the General Counsel and senior legal advisor to various senior business leaders at Vistra. A passionate supporter of DVAP and equal access to justice, Mr. Kelly received the Texas Access to Justice Commission’s 2016 Corporate Counsel Pro Bono Award. He is also the DBA Board Advisor to the Pro Bono Activities Committee.

Kate Morris, a Member at Clark Hill Strasburger, focuses her practice on cybersecurity, data protection & privacy and intellectual property & technology. A long-time supporter of the Equal Access to Justice Campaign and the DBA, she currently serves on the DBA Board of Directors and is Board Advisor to the Legal Ethics and Morris Harrell Professionalism Committees, as well as the Science & Technology Law Section. A graduate of SMU Dedman School of Law, Ms. Morris has received numerous recognition, including receiving the 2018 DAYL Mentor of the Year award, and being named to both D Magazine’s Best Lawyers in Dallas (2018) and as a Texas Super Lawyers Rising Star by Thomson Reuters (2014-2018).

Erin Nowell is a graduate of the University of Texas School of Law, and has been named to the Top 40 Advocates Under 40 by the National Bar Association and as a Texas Rising Star by Thomson Reuters, as well as having received the DBA Minority Attorney of the Year and the President’s Award from the J.L. Turner Legal Association (JLTLA). Ms. Nowell is a Shareholder at Simon Greenstone Panatier, PC and focuses on her practice on toxic torts, pharmaceutical litigation, and products liability. She serves as Co-Chair of the Admissions & Membership Committee and Chair of the Public Forum Committee, and is President-Elect of JLTLA.

Mary Scott, a Partner at Spencer Scott PLLC, is a graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law. She has represented clients in a broad range of complex, commercial litigation in state and federal courts, as well as in arbitrations across the United States. She also represents individuals in legal malpractice litigation. Ms. Scott has been a very active member of the DBA having served as Director of the Trial Academy program for the past seven years. In addition, she serves on the Board of Directors and is advisor to the Publications Committee and Appellate Law Section.

The Campaign will culminate at the Inaugural of 2019 DBA President Laura Benitez Geisler on January 12, 2019.

Back to Top