User menu

Appellate Law Section

Our mission is to provide quality, advanced continuing legal education for appellate specialists and to encourage collegiality and communication among members of the appellate bench and bar.

Meeting Schedule:

Our section meets at noon on the 3rd Thursday of every month at the Belo Mansion, except we do not have meetings in July and August.

 

Next meeting:  

Our next meeting will be on April 19, 2018.  Our speakers will be Anne Johnson and Jason Jordan of Haynes & Boone.  They will be presenting on Judgment Formation Landmines.

 

Section News:

If you have event announcements or other information to share with Section members, contact Hilaree Casada, at hilareecasada@gmail.comto include your announcement in the monthly Section electronic newsletter.


Section Officers:

Rich Phillips
Chair
Thompson & Knight LLP
1722 Routh Street, Ste. 1500
Dallas, TX 75201
214-969-1700
rich.phillips@tklaw.com

Jeremy Kernodle
Vice Chair
Haynes and Boone, LLP
2323 Victory Avenue, Ste. 700
Dallas, TX 75219
214-651-5000
jeremy.kernodle@haynesboone.com

Hilaree Casada
Secretary
Fifth District Court of Appeals
600 Commerce Street, Ste. 200
Dallas, TX 75202
214-712-3400
hilareecasada@gmail.com

Kirsten Castañeda
Treasurer
Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend LLP
4925 Greenville Ave., Suite 510
Dallas, TX 75206
214-369-2358
kcastaneda@adjtlaw.com

Greg Lensing
Immediate Past Chair
Fifth District Court of Appeals
600 Commerce Street, Ste. 200
Dallas, TX 75202
214-712-3400
gjlensing@yahoo.com

Mary Scott
Board Advisor
Spencer Scott PLLC
12221 Merit Drive, Suite 160
Dallas, TX 75251
972-458-5302
mscott@spencerscottlaw.com


Section Council

Name: Thomas F. Allen Jr.
Firm: Jones Day
Firm Address: 2727 North Harwood Street, Suite 500
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201-1515
Business Phone: 214.220.3939
Email: tallen@jonesday.com

Name: Katherine Elrich
Firm: Cobb Martinez Woodward PLLC
Firm Address: 1700 Pacific Ave., Suite 3100
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.220.5200
Email: kelrich@cobbmartinez.com

Name: Anne Johnson
Firm: Haynes and Boone, LLP
Firm Address: 2323 Victory Avenue, Ste. 700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75219
Business Phone: 214.651.5000
Email: anne.johnson@haynesboone.com

Name: Stephanie Nelson
Firm: Hankinson LLP
Firm Address: 750 N Saint Paul St Ste 1800
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.754.9190
Email: snelson@hankinsonlaw.com

Name: Bruce Thomas
Firm: The Law Office of Bruce K. Thomas
Firm Address: 211 N Record St Ste 450
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75202
Business Phone: 214.296.9650
Email: bthomas@bthomaslaw.com


 

Section Membership

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Appellate Law section, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $25.00 membership fee to:
DBA
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


Section Downloads:

Files: 
Back to Top