Dallas Bar Association

Dallas Bar Elects 2012 Officers

Sally Crawford Elected President-Elect

by Jessica D. Smith

Members of the Dallas Bar Association proudly elected its 2012 officers during the Annual Meeting on November 4.

Sally Crawford, of Jones Day was elected president-elect and will serve as the Association’s 104th president in 2013.

Ms. Crawford was elected to the DBA Board in 2004 and was elected Chair of the Board of Directors in 2009. She was then elected Second Vice-President and First Vice-President. Ms. Crawford has served as Chair of a number of DBA Committees including the Admissions & Membership Committee, Pro Bono Activities Committee and Peer Assistance Committee. She has also served as President of the Community Service Fund and Co-Chair of the Campaign for Equal Access to Justice.

Ms. Crawford was named Pro Bono Attorney of the Year by the Dallas Bar Association in 2005 and has been recognized by the State Bar of Texas with the Frank J. Scurlock Award for outstanding pro bono service. In 2010 she was honored by D Magazine in its list of the Best Women Lawyers in Dallas in 2010. And, this year, Ms. Crawford received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Texas at Dallas.  

Ms. Crawford’s civic activities include service on the boards of the Richardson Symphony, Dallas Entrepreneurship Institute, Consumer Credit Counseling Services of Greater Dallas and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas. She is a Fellow of the Dallas Bar Foundation, Dallas Association of Young Lawyers Foundation and a member of Texas Bar Foundation.

Ms. Crawford received her B.G.S. summa cum laude from the University of Texas at Dallas in 1983 and she received her J.D. (Order of the Coif) from Southern Methodist University in 1986. Ms. Crawford practices in the areas of mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance and general corporate law.

Other officers who were elected at the Annual Meeting are: Scott McElhaney, of Jackson Walker LLP, elected first vice-president; Brad Weber, of Locke Lord LLP, elected second vice-president;and Shonn Brown, of Locke Lord LLP, elected secretary-treasurer. Barry Sorrels, of Sorrels Udashen & Anton will serve as immediate past president and Paul K. Stafford, of The Stafford Law Firm, will serve as president in 2012.

Additionally, on November 10th ballots for director positions were sent to members and six of the following nominees will assume director positions in 2012:  Rob Crain, Laura Benitez Geisler, Sean T. Hamada, Michael K. Hurst, Michele Wong Krause, Audrey Moorehead, Mary L. Scott, Scott P. Stolley, Robert L. Tobeyand Aaron Z. Tobin. Ballots were due back November 21 and results were not available at press time. The 2012 presidents of the minority bar associations will also serve on the board.

Each year, the Texas Center for Legal Ethics & Professionalism co-sponsors the presentation of the Morris Harrell Professionalism Award with the DBA. The award was created in 1999 in honor of DBA Past President Morris Harrell to recognize an attorney who best exemplifies, by conduct and character, truly professional traits who others in the bar seek to emulate. This year’s Morris Harrell Professionalism Award recipient was Timothy W. Mountz, of Baker Botts, L.L.P.

Paul Herring, Attorney at Law, and Christina McCracken, of Gordon & Rees LLP, co-chairs of the Community Involvement Committee received the Jo Anna Moreland Outstanding Committee Chair Award. The Solo & Small Firm Section, chaired by John A. Goren,Attorney at Law, received the Special Section Award. And, the Minority Bar Leader Award was presented to David Diaz, of Korn, Bowdich & Diaz, L.L.P.  

Presidential Citations were also presented to behind-the-scenes members who have faithfully performed often time-consuming tasks for the association. Recipients were: Andy Payne, of Payne Mitchell Law Group L.L.P., and Dawn Estes, of Taber Estes Thorne & Carr PLLC, for coordinating an outstanding Bench Bar Conference; Aaron Tobin, of Anderson Tobin, PLLC, for his work as Chair of the Public Forum Committee; and Michele Wong Krause, of Wong Krause & Associates, for her outstanding efforts in creating the Dallas Public Library Speaker Series as Chair of the Speakers Committee.

Jessica D. Smith serves as the DBA’s Communications/Media Director. She can be reached at jsmith@dallasbar.org.

Back to top