Dallas Bar Association

DBA Board Chair and Vice Chair Elected

by Jessica D. Smith

Brad C. Weber and Jerry Alexander have been elected as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the 2011 Dallas Bar Association Board of Directors.

Mr. Weber, a partner at Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell LLP, is Co-Leader of the firm’s Antitrust Litigation Practice Group. He is a graduate of University of Michigan Law School.

An active member of the DBA Business Litigation and Energy Law Sections, Mr. Weber is also Co-Chair of the 2011-2012 Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and serves as the 2011 Chair of the Finance Committee. In addition, he is the Board Advisor for the Antitrust and Trade Regulation Section, the Trial Skills Section and the Media Relations Committee. He is also past chair of numerous committees, including the Bylaws Committee and the Morris Harrell Professionalism Committee. Mr. Weber is a past president of the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers.

A shareholder at Passman & Jones, Mr. Alexander’s areas of practice include antitrust, business torts, patents, trade secrets, unfair competition and labor-related business issues. He is a graduate of the SMU Dedman School of Law.

Mr. Alexander has a variety of experience serving on Committees and Sections of the DBA. He is currently the Chair of the 2010-2011 Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and took the lead on the DBA’s Vision 2020 plan. In addition, he is the Board Advisor for the Fee Disputes, Mergers and Acquisitions and Real Property Sections, as well as the Senior Lawyers Committee. Mr. Alexander has also chaired the Judiciary Committee and the Judicial Polls Study Subcommittee.

Also appointed at the board meeting to fill a one-year at-large judicial position was County Criminal Court presiding judge Hon. Robert Canas, Jr. A graduate of Texas Tech University School of Law, Judge Canas is a former Co-Chair of the DBA Bench Bar Conference Committee.

Filling a two-year at-large director position is Kim Askew. Ms. Askew is a partner at K&L Gates, LLP, where her practice focuses on the areas of commercial and employment litigation. She has been the Board Advisor to numerous DBA Committees and Sections and has served as the DBA’s delegate to the ABA House of Delegates for many years. Ms. Askew is a graduate of Georgetown University Law Center.

Monica Latin, a partner at Carrington, Coleman, Sloman & Blumenthal, L.L.P., was appointed to a one-year at-large director position. Ms. Latin is Co-Chair of the 2011 DBA Judiciary Committee, and is past chair of the Bench Bar Conference Committee. She is a graduate of the University of Texas School of Law.

In addition to these five members, the board will include: President Barry Sorrels; President-Elect Paul Stafford; First Vice President Sally Crawford; Second Vice President Scott McElhaney; Secretary-Treasurer Sean Hamada; Immediate Past President Ike Vanden Eykel; and Directors Penelope Brobst Blackwell, Eric Blue, Wm. Frank Carroll, Rob Crain, Laura Benitez Geisler, Hon. Martin Hoffman, Michael K. Hurst, Michele Wong Krause, Karen D. McCloud, Eunice Kim Nakamura, Mary L. Scott, Scott P. Stolley, Hon. Teresa Guerra Snelson and Diane Sumoski.

Jessica D. Smith is the DBA’s Communications/Media Director. She can be reached at jsmith@dallasbar.org.

Back to top