Dallas Bar Association

 Employee Benefits/Executive Compensation Section

Meets monthly for a program on employee benefits and executive compensation, pensions, profit-sharing plans, ESOPs, health coverage, disability plans, other standpoints, IRS, DOL, PBGC, SEC, ERISA, and state law.

Meeting Schedule:

The Employee Benefits/Executive Compensation Section meets on the 1st Wednesday of every month in from 12:00 noon - 1:00 p.m.

Section News: 

  • Our next section meeting is scheduled for noon on Wednesday, June 4, 2014.
  • Kirsten Garcia with Haynes and Boone, LLP will present "What You Need to Know: Final Shared Responsibility Regulations."  Kirsten's presentation will focus on the practical impact of the changes and clarifications made by the final regulations relating to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, including indentification of full-time employees and the latest transitional relief.    
  • The meeting will take place at the Belo Mansion.

  • High School Mock Trial Competition begins soon - Judges still needed.  Sign up is easy - just click on the right side of this page.

  • Dallas ISD & Region 11 - George Allen Courthouse - Saturday, January 25 - 8:30 am 20 Judges needed, 12:15 pm 20 Judges needed; 3:00 pm - 35 Judges needed; Monday, January 27 - 5:30 pm 4 Judges needed; Tuesday, January 28 - 5:30 pm 4 Judges needed; Wednesday, January 29 - 5:30 pm 4 Judges needed; Thursday, January 30 - 5:30 pm 12 Judges needed.

  • Region 10 - George Allen Courthouse - Saturday, February 1 - 8:30 am 25 Judges needed, 12:15 pm 20 Judges needed, 3:30 pm 35 Judges needed; Saturday, February 8 - 8:00 am 10 Judges still needed, 10:30 am 10 Judges needed.


Section Officers:

Name: Stefan P. Smith
Officer Position: Chair
Firm: Locke Lord LLP
Firm Address: 2200 Ross Avenue
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: (214) 740-8000
Email: spsmith@lockelord.com

Name: Eric Winwood
Officer Position: Vice Chair
Firm: Baker Botts L.L.P.
Firm Address: 2201 Ross Avenue, Ste. 600
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: (214) 953-6500
Email:  eric.winwood@bakerbotts.com

Name: Tara Silver-Malyska
Officer Position: Secretary
Firm: Willis
Firm Address: 15305 Dallas Parkway, Suite 1100
Firm City, State, Zip: Addison, TX 75001
Business Phone: (972) 715-2177
Email: tara.silver-malyska@willis.com

Name: Lacey Durham
Officer Position: Treasurer
Firm: Deloitte Tax LLP
Firm Address: 2200 Ross Avenue, Ste. 1600
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: (214) 840-1830
Email: ldurham@deloitte.com

Name: James Griffin
Officer Position: Immediate Chair
Firm: Jackson Walker L.L.P.
Firm Address: 901 Main Street, Suite 6000
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75202
Business Phone: (214) 953-6000
Email:  jgriffin@jw.com

Name: Meyling Ly
Officer Position: Board Advisor
Firm: Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Firm Address: 2001 Ross Avenue, Ste. 1500, L.B. 116
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: (214) 880-8100
Email:  mly@littler.com


2012-2014 Committee Members:  

Scott Austin
Kirsten Garcia
Lindsay Murphy

2013-2015 Committee Members:  

Sarah Fry
Kristy Rohrschach
Allison Wilkerson 

2014-2016 Committee Members:

Jake Barney
Chris Beinecke
David Schiller


Resource Links



Section Membership


If you are interested in becoming a member of the Employee Benefits/Executive Compensation Section, please send a letter of request and a $25.00 membership fee to:
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the membership department at the Dallas Bar.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage


Section Downloads:

Bylaws.DOC63.5 KB
Dallas Bar Assoc - Appendices D & F Handout 6 3 2009.doc67 KB
DBA Powerpoint (2-4-09)(1720887_1).PPT942.5 KB
DBA120607legislativeupdate.PPT593 KB
DOC.PDF789.81 KB
Labor and Benefits Lawyers - Brothers and Sisters in Arms (2).PPT483 KB
New 403 b Plan Requirements and Prototype .pdf2.5 MB
Retirement Plan Reevaluation.pdf586.03 KB
2011.03.02: Fees, Forms, Fiduciaries and Plan Assets by Eric Winwood602.5 KB
dba_january_handout.pdf67.05 KB
Back to top