Dallas Bar Association

Scott McElhaney Elected Dallas Bar Association President                                                                                 

The Dallas Bar Association, a 141-year-old professional, voluntary organization comprised of more than 11,000 lawyers in the DFW Metroplex, elected its 2014 Board of Directors. Leading the association as President in 2014 will be attorney Scott M. McElhaney, of Jackson Walker L.L.P., who specializes in litigation, appellate and labor and employment law.

Mr. McElhaney was elected to the DBA Board in 2006 and was elected Chair of the Board of Directors in 2010. He has served as Chair of numerous DBA Committees including the Admissions and Membership Committee, Judiciary Committee and the Bench Bar Conference Committee. In addition, he was chair of the 2009-2010 Campaign for Equal Access to Justice and is a past chair of the Business Litigation Section. He has also served on the DBA Community Service Fund Board of Directors and on the State Bar of Texas’ District 6 Grievance Committee.

Mr. McElhaney has been included in The Best Lawyers in America, named a “Texas Super Lawyer” and listed as one of the “Best Lawyers in Dallas” in D Magazine. He has been a lecturer at SMU’s Dedman School of Law, teaching employment law and legal research and writing.

Mr. McElhaney received his A.B. summa cum laude from Dartmouth College and his J.D. cum laude from Harvard Law School, where he was the managing editor for Harvard Civil Rights—Civil Liberties Law Review. After graduating from Harvard Law School, Mr. McElhaney was a law clerk to Judge Irving Goldberg of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and to Judge Barefoot Sanders of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas.

Other officers serving on the Board are as follows: President-Elect—Brad Weber, of Locke Lord LLP; First Vice President—Jerry Alexander, of Passman & Jones, P.C.; Second Vice President—Rob Crain, of Crain Lewis, L.L.P.; Secretary/Treasurer—Audrey Moorehead, of Law Offices of Audrey Moorehead; and Immediate Past President—Sally Crawford, of Jones Day.


The Dallas Bar Association is a professional, voluntary organization of more than 11,000 Dallas-area attorneys. Find out more at www.dallasbar.org.

Back to top