User menu

Tax Section

The Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association focuses on providing monthly meetings at which speakers make presentations regarding topics of current interest in the area of tax practice for continuing legal education credit.

NOTE - OUTLINES FOR UPCOMING AND PRIOR MEETINGS ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


Upcoming Meetings

This section meets at the Belo Mansion on the first Monday of the month at noon.  Our next meeting will be held Monday, February 5th.  Jason Freeman will be speaking on "Bitcoin, Blockchain, and the Bank Secrecy Act: Taxation, Reporting and Regulation".

DBA Tax Section Membership Info

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $30.00 membership fee to: DBA 2101 Ross Ave Dallas TX, 75201 Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

TAX SECTION EMAIL DISTRIBUTION LIST

If you are a member of the DBA Tax Section and have not been receiving DBA Tax Section emails, please send an email to the Chair, Joel Crouch at jcrouch@meadowscollier.com


2018 Section Officers:

Chair, Joel Crouch, Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouch & Ungerman, LLP, 901 Main Street, Suite 3700, Dallas, TX 75202, (214) 749-2456, jcrouch@meadowscollier.com

Vice Chair, Mary Prosser, Texas Instruments, 12500 TI Boulevard, MS A3000, Dallas, TX, 75243, 214-479-0639,  mary.w.prosser@gmail.com

Secretary/Treasurer, Todd Keator, Thompson & Knight, LLP, 1722 Routh Street, Suite 1500 Dallas, TX, 75201, 214-969-1797,  todd.keator@tklaw.com

Immediate Past Chair, David C. Gair, Gray Reed & McGraw LLP, 1601 Elm Street, Suite 4600, Dallas, TX  75201, (469) 320-6046 dgair@grayreed.com

DBA Board Advisor, Stephanie Gause Culpepper, ORIX USA Corp. Address: 1717 Main Street, Ste. 1100, Dallas, TX 75201, (214) 237-5353, stephanie.culpepper@orix.com

Section Council:

The Members of the Tax Council for 2018 are:

Jason Freeman, Freeman Law, PLLC, jason@freemanlaw-pllc.com - second year of a 2-year term

Ben Vesely, BDO, bvesely@bdo.com - second year of a 2-year term

Labry Welty, Greenberg Traurig, LLP, weltyl@gtlaw.com - second year of a 2-year term

Nate Smithson, Jackson Walker, nsmithson@jw.com - first year of a 2-year term

Chris Cunningham, Elliott, Thomason & Gibson, LLP, chris@etglawfirm.com -first year of a 2-year term

Cynthia Messersmith, Tax Division, Department of Justice, cynthia.messersmith@usdoj.gov - first year of a 2 year term


Tax Section Bylaws

click to download here --> Tax Section Bylaws

 

State Bar of Texas Tax Programs

 

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program. Become a VITA Program - volunteer now! Go to the SBOT Tax Section’s website for information on training and assistance locations or contact Vicki L. Rees at (512) 499-0902 or vrees@pittmanfink.com.

 

The Tax Court Program. The SBOT Tax Section assists pro se taxpayers during Tax Court calendar calls in Dallas, Houston, Lubbock, El Paso, and San Antonio.  Check the calendar on the SBOT Tax Section’s website for the next calendar call in your cityof choice.  In Dallas please contact Tiffany Hamil  at the Law Office of Tiffany Hamil.  Her email address is dfwtaxadvisor@gmail.com .  


Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


 

Section Downloads:

 

Back to Top