User menu

Tax Section

The Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association focuses on providing monthly meetings at which speakers make presentations regarding topics of current interest in the area of tax practice for continuing legal education credit.

NOTE - OUTLINES FOR UPCOMING AND PRIOR MEETINGS ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


Upcoming Meetings

This section meets at the Belo Mansion on the first Monday of the month at noon.  Our next meeting will be held Monday, January 9th, when Melinda Phelan and Jerred Blanchard of Baker & McKenzie, will present, "The Final Section 385 Regulations: Kinder But Not Gentler."

DBA Tax Section Membership Info

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $30.00 membership fee to: DBA 2101 Ross Ave Dallas TX, 75201 Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

TAX SECTION EMAIL DISTRIBUTION LIST

If you are a member of the DBA Tax Section and have not been receiving DBA Tax Section emails, please send an email to the Chair, David C. Gair at dgair@grayreed.com


Section Officers:

Name:  David C. Gair Officer Position:  Chair    Firm: Gray Reed & McGraw, PC 1601 Elm Street, Suite 4600, Dallas, TX  75201, Business Phone:  (469) 320-6046  Email: dgair@grayreed.com

Name:  Joel Crouch Officer Position:  Vice-Chair  Firm: Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouch & Ungerman, LLP, Address: 901 Main Street, Suite 3700, Dallas, TX 75202, Business Phone: (214) 749-2456 Email: jcrouch@meadowscollier.com

Name:  Mary Prosser  Officer Position: Secretary/Treasurer  Firm: Texas Instruments, Address: 12500 TI Boulevard, MS A3000, Dallas, TX, 75243, Business Phone: 214-479-0639 Email: mprosser@ti.com

Name: Daniel Baucum Officer Position:  Former Chair  Firm:  Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr  Firm Address: 500 N. Akard Street, Suite 3800, Dallas, Texas, 75201-6659  Business Phone: (214) 855-7509 Email: dbaucum@munsch.com

Name: Michael Hurst Officer Position: DBA Board Advisor Firm: Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst Address: 2100 Ross Avenue, Ste. 2700, Dallas, TX 75202 Business Phone: (214) 981-3838 Email: mhurst@lynnllp.com

Section Council:

The Members of the Tax Council for 2016 are:

 - Second year of a 2-year term:

David Coffin, David Coffin PLLC, dcoffin@davidcoffinlaw.com - second year of a 2-year term

Todd D. Keator, Thompson & Knight, todd.keator@tklaw.com - second year of a 2-year term

Nate Smithson, Jackson Walker, nsmithson@jw.com - first year, but fulfilling second year of a 2-year term

- First year of a 2 year term:

Jason Freeman, Freeman Law, PLLC, jason@freemanlaw-pllc.com - first year of a 2- year term

Ben Vesley, BDO, bvesely@bdo.com - first year of a 2-year term

Labry Welty, Greenberg Traurig, LLP, weltyl@gtlaw.com - first year of a 2-year term

Ex-officio member: Dan Baucum, Immediate Past Chair   Firm:  Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr, PC Firm Address: 500 N. Akard StreetWinstead Building, 2728 N. Harwood Street, Dallas, Texas 75201 Business Phone: (214) 745-5887 Email: dbaucum@munsch.com


Tax Section Bylaws

click to download here --> Tax Section Bylaws

 

State Bar of Texas Tax Programs

 

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program. Become a VITA Program - volunteer now! Go to the SBOT Tax Section’s website for information on training and assistance locations or contact Vicki L. Rees at (512) 499-0902 or vrees@pittmanfink.com.

 

The Tax Court Program. The SBOT Tax Section assists pro se taxpayers during Tax Court calendar calls in Dallas, Houston, Lubbock, El Paso, and San Antonio.  Check the calendar on the SBOT Tax Section’s website for the next calendar call in your cityof choice.  In Dallas please contact Tiffany Hamil  at the Law Office of Tiffany Hamil.  Her email address is dfwtaxadvisor@gmail.com .  


Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


 

Section Downloads:

 

Back to Top