User menu

Tax Section

The Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association focuses on providing monthly meetings at which speakers make presentations regarding topics of current interest in the area of tax practice for continuing legal education credit.


Upcoming Meetings

This section generally meets the first Monday of the month.

DBA Tax Section Membership Info

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Tax Section of the Dallas Bar Association, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $30.00 membership fee to: DBA 2101 Ross Ave Dallas TX, 75201 Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Update Speeches

If you have a very short (2 to 5 minutes) presenation and a paper on new developments, please contact one of the officers or coucil members below.  We would like to have you give your presentation at the beginning of one of our meetings.


If you are a member of the DBA Tax Section and have not been receiving DBA Tax Section emails, please send an email to the Chair, Louise Hytken at

2015 Section Officers:

Name: Julie Sassenrath Officer Position:  Chair  Firm:  Winstead PC Firm Address: 500 Winstead Building, 2728 N. Harwood Street, Dallas, Texas 75201 Business Phone: (214) 745-5887 Email:

Name: Officer Position:  Daniel Baucum Vice Chair Firm: Cantey Hanger, L.L.P. Address: 1999 Bryan Street, Suite 3330, Dallas, TX 75201, Business Phone: (214) 978-4137 Email:

Name: Officer Position:  David C. Gair Secretary-Treasurer Firm: Gray Reed & McGraw, P.C. Address: 1601 Elm Street, Suite 4600, Dallas, TX 75201, Business Phone: (214) 954-4135 Email:

Name: Louise Hytken, Officer Position: Immediate Past Chair Firm: Attorney at Law, Dallas, TX 75248 Business Phone: (972) 991-4095 Email:

Name: Laura Benitez Geisler Officer Position: DBA Board Advisor Firm: Geisler Law Firm Address: 3811 Turtle Creek Blvd., Ste. 1400, Dallas, TX 75219 Business Phone: (214) 651-4200 Email:

Section Council:

The Members of the Tax Council for 2014 are:

Alex Nakos, malouf lynch jackson & swinson, - second year of a two-year term

David Gair, Looper, Reed & McGraw, PC, - second year of a 2-year term

Robert D. "Bob" - second year of a 2-year term

Joel Crouch, Meadows, Collier, Reed, Cousins, Crouoch & Ungerman, LLP, - first year of 2-year term

Alexander McGeoch, Hunton & Williams, - first year of 2-year term

Amy Stowe, Amy Stowe - first year of 2-year term

Ex-officio member: Christine Robinson Officer Position: former chair Firm: JCPenney Firm Address: 6501 Legacy Dr., Plano, TX 75024-3698 Business Phone: (972) 431-2105 Email:

Tax Section Bylaws

click to download here --> Tax Section Bylaws


State Bar of Texas Programs

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program. Become a VITA Program - volunteer now! Go to the SBOT Tax Section’s website for information on training and assistance locations or contact Vicki L. Rees at (512) 499-0902 or

The Tax Court Program. The SBOT Tax Section assists pro se taxpayers during Tax Court calendar calls in Dallas, Houston, Lubbock, El Paso, and San Antonio.  Check the calendar on the SBOT Tax Section’s website for the next calendar call in your city and contact our Pro Bono Chair Bob Probasco at 214-969-1503 or to assist.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage


Section Downloads:


Back to Top