User menu

Appellate Law Section

Our mission is to provide quality, advanced continuing legal education for appellate specialists and to encourage collegiality and communication among members of the appellate bench and bar.

Meeting Schedule:

Our section meets at noon on the 3rd Thursday of every month at the Belo Mansion, except we do not have meetings in July and August.

 

Next meeting:  

Our next meeting will be on Thursday, October 19.  Our guest speaker will be Katherine Elrich of Cobb Martinez Woodward, and she will give a personal jurisdiction update.
 
PLEASE NOTE that our October meeting will also be our section's Annual Meeting at which we will elect the section's officers and advisory council for 2018.

 

Section News:

If you have event announcements or other information to share with Section members, contact Jeremy Kernodle, at jeremy.kernodle@haynesboone.comto include your announcement in the monthly Section electronic newsletter.


Section Officers:

Name: Greg Lensing
Officer Position: Chair
Firm: Fifth District Court of Appeals
Firm Address: 600 Commerce Street, Ste. 200
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75202
Business Phone: 214-712-3400
Email: gjlensing@yahoo.com

Name: Rich Phillips
Officer Position: Vice Chair
Firm: Thompson & Knight LLP
Firm Address: 1722 Routh Street, Ste. 1500
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214-969-1700
Email: rich.phillips@tklaw.com

Name: Jeremy Kernodle
Officer Position: Secretary
Firm: Haynes and Boone, LLP
Firm Address: 2323 Victory Avenue, Ste. 700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75219
Business Phone: 214-651-5000
Email: jeremy.kernodle@haynesboone.com

Name: Hilaree Casada
Officer Position:  Treasurer
Firm: Fifth District Court of Appeals
Firm Address: 600 Commerce Street, Ste. 200
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75202
Business Phone: 214.712.3400
Email: hilaree.casada@5th.txcourts.gov

Name: Tom Cowart
Officer Position: Immediate Past Chair
Firm: Wasoff & Cowart PLLC
Firm Address: 100 North Central Expressway, Suite 901
Firm City, State, Zip: Richardson, Texas 75080
Business Phone: 214-692-9700
Email: tom@tcowart.com

Name: Erin Nowell 
Officer Position: Board Advisor
Firm: Simon Greenstone Panatier Bartlett, PC
Firm Address: 3232 McKinney Ave Ste 610, Ste. 610
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75204
Business Phone: 214.276.7680
Email: enowell@sgpb.com


Section Council

Name: Kirsten Castaneda
Firm: Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend LLP
Firm Address: 4925 Greenville Ave Ste 510
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75206
Business Phone: 214.369.2358
Email: kcastaneda@adjtlaw.com

Name: Rob Gilbreath
Firm: Hawkins Parnell Thackston & Young, LLP
Firm Address: 4514 Cole Ave Ste 500
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75205
Business Phone: 214.780.5100
Email: rgilbreath@hptylaw.com

Name: Anne Johnson
Firm: Haynes and Boone, LLP
Firm Address: 2323 Victory Avenue, Ste. 700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75219
Business Phone: 214.651.5000
Email: anne.johnson@haynesboone.com

Name: Stephanie Nelson
Firm: Hankinson LLP
Firm Address: 750 N Saint Paul St Ste 1800
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.754.9190
Email: snelson@hankinsonlaw.com

Name: Bruce Thomas
Firm: The Law Office of Bruce K. Thomas
Firm Address: 211 N Record St Ste 450
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75202
Business Phone: 214.296.9650
Email: bthomas@bthomaslaw.com


 

Section Membership

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Appellate Law section, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $25.00 membership fee to:
DBA
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


Section Downloads:

Files: 
Back to Top