User menu

Environmental Law Section

Provides a monthly forum for environmental lawyers, associate nonlawyer members, and the general public to hear a speaker address a topic of interest in the field. Members come from a variety of backgrounds, including government, corporate in-house, and private firm counsel, as well as non-attorney environmental professionals.


North Texas Climate Change Symposium:

The 2nd Annual North Texas Climate Change Symposium will be held on Monday, February 4, 2019, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The symposium will feature a keynote address by Dr. Katharine Hayhoe, an international authority on climate change.

*Symposium attendance is free. Attorney CLE credit (5 hours) is anticipated; attorney CLE credit is free for DBA members and $45 for non-DBA members.

Register now via Eventbrite or email Erin Tanimura,, if you would like to attend.

Meeting Schedule:

The Section meets on the fourth Thursday of every month, except that no meeting will be held in January, 2019, and that the November and December meetings are combined into one meeting (Thursday, December 5, 2019).

Next Meetings:

Our next regular meeting will be on Thursday, February 28, 2019, at noon at the Belo Mansion. We are pleased to host special guest speaker Scott Deatherage, S Deatherage Law.
When: Thursday, February 28, at 12 pm (noon)
Topic: TBA
Meeting Location: Hughes & Luce Room, Belo Mansion, 2101 Ross Ave, Dallas, Texas
MCLE Credit: 1.00 Hour

On Thursday, March 28, 2019, we will host Mark Underwood, Underwood Law Offices, at noon at the Belo Mansion.

On Thursday, April 25, 2019, we will host Walter D. James, III, James PLLC, at noon at the Belo Mansion.

Section News:

The Section is pleased to recognize Mr. Andy Wallander, J.D. candidate, as the winner of the inaugural Environmental Law Section Scholarship. This new scholarship is awarded to a student of the University of North Texas at Dallas College of Law who has excelled academically in the school's environmental law course. Mr. Wallander has excelled academically throughout law school and will graduate in 2019. The Section hosted and congratulated Mr. Wallader during the May 24, 2018 meeting.

Section Officers:

Name: Jack Gannon
Officer Position: Chair
Firm: McGuire, Craddock & Strother, P.C.
Firm Address: 
2501 N. Harwood  Ste 1800
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75201
Business Phone: 214-954-6800

Name: James Richards
Officer Position: Secretary
Firm: City of Dallas 

Firm Address: 1500 Marilla Street
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75201
Business Phone: 214-670-5047

Name: Jacob Gallegos
Officer Position: Treasurer
Firm: U.S. Environmental Protection Agcy (6RC)
Firm Address: 1445 Ross Ave Ste 1200, MC6RC-Er

Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75202
Business Phone: 214-665-2110

Name: Krisi Kastl
Officer Position: DBA Board Avisor
Firm: Kastl Law, P.C.
Firm Address: 4144 N Central Expy Ste 300
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75204
Business Phone: 214-821-0230

Resource Links



Section Membership


If you are interested in becoming a member of the Environmental Law Section, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $20.00 membership fee to:
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


Section Downloads:



Back to Top